CPV-13 Early Bird Registration Now Open

  The online registration is now open for the 13th International Conference on Concentrator Photovoltaic Systems (CPV-13), held between May 1-3, 2017, at the University of Ottawa, in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The discounted Early Bird rates are available until March 17.

CPV-13, 1-3 May 2017, Ottawa, Canada

SUNLAB Graduates 3 Students in 2016

The SUNLAB sends congratulations to three students for the successful thesis defense and completion of their postgraduate studies in 2016: Ahmed Gabr, Ph.D., Elec. Eng., “Modelling and Characterization of Down-Conversion and Down-Shifting Processes for Photovoltaic Applications“, June 2016 Robert Chu Tu Li, M.A.Sc., Elec. Eng., “Development of Field Scenario Ray […]

Science Co-Op Student of the Year: Sanmeet Chahal

We wish to extend congratulations to Sanmeet Chahal, recipient of the Faculty of Science Co-Op Student of the Year Award 2016, for his research at the SUNLAB over the summer. His project focused on the development of a fully-parameterized three-dimensional distributed circuit model for electrical simulation of multi-junction photovoltaic devices, […]

SUNLAB student’s research featured in the Ottawa Citizen

Congratulations to Ross Cheriton,a Ph.D. student in physics at the SUNLAB who has been working alongside Ottawa-Gatineau company iBionics on powering chips in new wire-free retinal implants for retinitis pigmentosa and age-related macular degeneration. This research was recently featured in the Ottawa Citizen as well as a fundraising campaign for […]

SUNLAB student awarded IEEE PES scholarship for a second year

Congratulations to Lianne de la Salle, undergraduate student at the SUNLAB, for being selected as a 2016-2017 IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative recipient for a second year! The Initiative provides multi-year scholarships and career experience opportunities to electrical engineering undergraduate students specializing in power and energy engineering. Lianne de la […]

Dr. Joan Haysom wins the WiRE Woman of Distinction Award for Solar 2016

Congratulations to SUNLAB member Dr. Joan Haysom on winning the WiRE Woman of Distinction Award for Solar 2016. This award recognizes women who go “above and beyond business-as-usual, consistently demonstrate outstanding leadership, and have contributed significantly to the expansion and improvement of the power sector”. Dr. Haysom received her award […]

Joan Haysom

SUNLAB students awarded scholarships

Congratulations to SUNLAB students Louis Béchard, Patrick McVey White, Meghan Beattie and Ross Cheriton on receiving scholarships for 2016-2017. Both Louis Béchard and Patrick McVey White, master’s students at the SUNLAB, have been awarded a prestigious Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarship from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council […]